Log in
Watch fullscreen
7 years ago|1K views

Eloy - 1971 (full album)

Meir Rivkin
One of the most popular German bands of the '70s, Eloy went through several stages in their long career, with the only constant member being guitarist/vocalist Frank Bornemann. Transforming from a political-themed hard rock band to a spacey progressive rock band who sounded something like a mix of Jethro Tull and Pink Floyd, the group in later formations would move toward a more accesible hard rock sound with strong progressive elements.

Eloy was formed in 1969 by Frank Bornemann (guitar, harmonica, percussion), Erich Schriever (lead vocals, keyboards), Manfred Wieczorke (guitar, bass, vocals), Helmuth Draht (drums), and Wolfgang Stöcker (bass). Taking their name from that of a human race in the book The Time Machine by H.G. Wells, the band released their first single, "Daybreak," in 1970 and put out their eponymous debut album the following year. Filled with conventional hard rock with political statements, the album is an anomaly in the band's catalogue. Schriever, who was responsible for the band's political lyrics, left the group after Eloy's debut, as did Draht, who was replaced by Fritz Randow.

Eloy is the debut recording from one of Germany's most accomplished progressive rock bands. The band was originally co-led by vocalist Erich Schriever and guitarist Frank Bornemann, and the two differed on musical direction, which is evident here. The band was essentially a hard rock act at this time with a sound similar to Black Sabbath and Atomic Rooster. Although the production is lackluster and their technical abilities were not yet fully developed, it does have an intrinsic quality. "Today," in particular, demonstrates the band's abilities to create catchy rock songs. While Eloy would move in a more progressive direction, which would yield more consistent results, they would never sound as honest and vulnerable as they do here. Humble beginnings for one of progressive rock's most underrated bands.

Erich Schriever – Lead vocals, Keyboards
Frank Bornemann – Guitar, Harmonica, Percussion
Manfred Wieczorke – Guitar, Bass, Vocals
Wolfgang Stocker – Bass guitar
Helmuth Draht – drums