Piirpauke - 1976 - Piirpauke 2 (full album)

  • 9 years ago
Truly pioneers in the world-music scene, Piirpauke fuse traditional Finnish folk forms with motifs and rhythms from Latin, Caribbean, Arabic, and Asian musical styles. Starting out in the mid-'70s, Piirpauke have remained insistently eclectic, and their range of influences can stretch to encompass Senegalese drumming and Andalucian singing on a single disk.
Piirpauke acts as a musical group combining folk music, world music, jazz and progressive rock. It was founded in 1974 by the singer-saxophonist Sakari Kukko, who is the only original member left in the band today. In addition to large number of Finnish musicians, several musicians from various countries have also played in Piirpauke.
The band has released 19 studio albums as well as several live and compilation albums. In October 2010 their album Koli peaked number one at the World Music Charts Europe. Piirpauke's best known song is Konevitsan kirkonkellot (The Church Bells of Konevets), based on a traditional Karelian melody. It is named after the Konevsky Monastery in the Konevets island of Lake Ladoga. The song was covered by heavy metal band Sentenced in their 2002 album The Cold White Light.

Artwork – Pekka Ojamaa
Bass, Violin [Egyptian], Contrabass, Goblet Drum [Turkkilainen Savirumpu], Kalimba, Tambourine – Antti Hytti
Harmonium, Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Tambourine, Goblet Drum [Savirumpu], Maracas – Hasse Walli
Liner Notes – Peter von Bagh
Percussion, Bells [Chinese Wedding] – Jukka Wasama
Photography By – Eero Raunio, Timo Kelaranta/Saftra*, Timo Kesäläinen
Producer – Hasse Walli
Saxello, Bouzouki, Soprano Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Piano, Flute [Mountain, Bengal], Goblet Drum [Savirumpu], Tambourine, Talking Drum – Sakari Kukko