Skip to playerSkip to main content
  • 2 years ago
In this golf rules video, Golf Monthly rules expert Jeremy Ellwood looks at what you can and can't do when it comes to filling out your scorecard
Transcript
00:00 Hello there, we're talking today about some of the essentials for filling in your scorecard.
00:10 Well I suppose it's not you that fills in your scorecard, it's the marker that fills
00:13 in your scorecard and at the end of the round in a stroke play event you sign to certify
00:18 that what the marker has written down is correct.
00:20 There is really only in some ways one key thing to remember when it comes to the scorecard
00:26 and that is that you are signing only for the gross scores taken on each individual
00:31 hole.
00:32 You don't have to do the maths, you don't have to calculate the Stableford points in
00:36 a Stableford, all you are doing is saying yes that's what I scored on that hole, gross.
00:42 Now the problems arise when wrong scores get marked down and you don't notice them before
00:48 you sign your scorecard and it depends which way the error has gone as to what's going
00:52 to happen to you.
00:53 If you sign for a score lower than what you've actually taken, unfortunately that is a DQ
00:58 offence and your score for that tournament will not count, you will be disqualified.
01:04 If however you sign for a score higher than that that you actually took on an individual
01:08 hole, well then that's kind of your tough luck unfortunately and that score stands as
01:13 recorded and there have been some famous instances where top names have fallen foul of that particular
01:19 rule.
01:20 One other thing that's worth mentioning is a lot of people think you have to initial
01:24 and sign for scorecard mistakes, you don't as long as it's clear what you scored on that
01:29 particular hole, it doesn't have to be further certified by another signature or initial.
01:36 One or two other things just to talk about, let's talk about handicaps on scorecards and
01:40 again if you make a mistake in this it will depend which way round you get it.
01:44 If you put a handicap down in a handicap competition that is higher than that to which you are
01:49 entitled or you fail to put a handicap down on the card at all, unfortunately you will
01:53 be disqualified there because you are giving yourself more shots than you are entitled
01:57 to.
01:58 The other way round though, if you put a handicap down that is lower than that to which you
02:01 are entitled to, the only person you are doing any disservice to is yourself and the score,
02:07 your handicap score, net score will stand based on that lower handicap.
02:12 One or two other little things, obviously you have to remember to sign the card and
02:16 you must make sure that your marker signs the card too and if for any reason you have
02:21 had to have two markers in a round, someone has been taken ill or twisted their ankle
02:24 and injured themselves, you must make sure that both markers sign the card before you
02:28 sign it and submit it.
02:30 And talking of submitting it, the final point here is you are obliged to return your scorecard
02:35 promptly at the end of the round to wherever the committee has designated scorecards must
02:40 be returned to.
02:41 And that does mean that if you drive home, forget about your scorecard and then only
02:46 remember later in the day and drive back up to the club, unfortunately by then it is too
02:49 late and you will be disqualified I am afraid for not returning your scorecard in a prompt
02:54 manner.
02:55 So just a few things to remember there about the scorecard, it is fairly easy to get right
03:00 but occasionally little errors slip in when perhaps you have had a bad round and you don't
03:04 really check it as thoroughly as you should be doing, so the key message really is check
03:08 it thoroughly, make sure everything is right before you submit your scorecard.
03:15 [BLANK_AUDIO]
Be the first to comment
Add your comment

Recommended