Do you want to remove all your recent searches?

All recent searches will be deleted

Watch fullscreen

Have the alliance stitched up by Modi recently given him an edge?

8 months ago|0 view
The Election Commission on Wednesday announced a nine-phase poll for the 16th Lok Sabha from April 7 to May 12. The counting of votes will be taken up on May 16. The model code of conduct has come into force with immediate effect. The Lok Sabha has a strength of 543 (excluding two nominated members) and the term of the present 15th Lok Sabha ends on May 31.

The nine phases of polls are to be held on: April 7, 9, 10, 12, 17, 24, 30, May 7 and May 12.

The elections to the 294-member Andhra Pradesh Assembly will be held on April 30 and May 7 along with the respective Lok Sabha constituencies in the State.

It will be on April 10 and 17 in Odisha for the Assembly/Lok Sabha and April 12 for the Sikkim Assembly/Lok Sabha seat. The Odisha Assembly has a strength of 147 members and the Sikkim Assembly 32 members.

Announcing the poll schedule at a crowded press conference in Vigyan Bhavan, Chief Election Commissioner V.S. Sampath, who was flanked by Election Commissioners H.S. Brahma and S.N.A. Zaidi, said Bihar and Uttar Pradesh will have the maximum of six phases polls each, followed by Jammu and Kashmir and West Bengal five phase poll each. It will be three phase poll in Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Assam, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra, two phases in Andhra Pradesh, Manipur, Odisha, Rajasthan and Tripura. All the remaining States and the Union Territories will have a single phase poll.

For More information on this news visit :
Connect with us on Social platform at :
Subscribe to our YouTube Channel :