Advertising Console

    Obama Declares 5 New National Monuments

    Geo Beats

    by Geo Beats

    Obama declares 5 new national monuments.

    President Obama has signed proclamations deeming 5 sites across the country official national monuments. The newly declared sites could result in economic growth through recreation and tourism.

    Obama states “These sites honor the pioneering heroes, spectacular landscapes and rich history that have shaped our extraordinary country. By designating these national monuments today, we will ensure they will continue to inspire and be enjoyed by generations of Americans to come.”

    The first structure is the Charles Young Buffalo Soldiers National Monument in Ohio. Preserving the home of Colonel Charles Young, it serves as a tribute to the former Army officer who became the first African American to achieve the rank of Colonel.

    Next up is the Río Grande del Norte National Monument in New Mexico. Extinct volcanoes and 500-year-old trees reside on the over 242,000 acre property.

    The San Juan Islands in Washington also made the list, comprised of 450 beautiful islands, pinnacles and rocks in an undeveloped landscape. The First State National Monument in Delaware is a tribute to the state’s settlement history and Delaware’s role in ratifying the Constitution.

    The Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad National Monument in Maryland is dedicated to the life of the famous conductor, responsible for assisting enslaved people escape from bondage.