Advertising Console

    Joyce Carol Oates: Writers Are Nice, But Not Sensitive



    Joyce Carol Oates: Writers Are Nice, But Not Sensitive
    The New Yorker - SVA Theatre 2

    With T. Coraghessan Boyle, Joyce Carol Oates, and George Saunders. Moderated by Deborah Treisman.

    T. Coraghessan Boyle is the author of thirteen novels, including World's End, which won the PEN/Faulkner Award, and When the Killing's Done, which came out in February. He has published nine story collections, including Tooth and Claw, whose title story appeared in The New Yorker and was included in "The Best American Short Stories 2004."

    Joyce Carol Oates has published numerous novels and story collections, most recently Give Me Your Heart. A Widow's Story: A Memoir, part of which first appeared in The New Yorker, came out in February. She has received the National Book Award and the National Humanities Medal, and is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

    George Saunders has written three story collections, including In Persuasion Nation; an illustrated novella, The Brief and Frightening Reign of Phil; and The Braindead Megaphone, a collection of essays, many of which were first published in The New Yorker. His story "Home" appeared in the June 13th & 20th Summer Fiction Issue.

    Deborah Treisman is the fiction editor of The New Yorker.