Advertising Console

    mammoth ivory carving Japanese Seven Lucky Gods 37448

    tide mammoth

    by tide mammoth

    The Seven Lucky Gods(七福神 Shichi Fukujin) , refer to the seven gods of good fortune in Japanese moythology and folklore. They are often the subject of netsuke carvings and other representations.
    The Shichifukujin 七福神 are an eclectic group of deities from Japan, India, and China. Only one is native to Japan (Ebisu) and Japan's indigenous Shinto tradition. Three are from the Hindu-Buddhist pantheon of India (Daikokuten, Bishamonten, and Benzaiten) and three from Chinese Taoist-Buddhist traditions (Hotei, Juroujin, and Fukurokuju). In Japan, they travel together on their treasure ship (takara bune 宝船) and dispense happiness to believers.
    Each deity has a traditional attribute:
    1. Magnanimity (Hotei), God of Contentment and Happiness
    2. Longevity (Juroujin), God of Longevity
    3. Popularity (Fukurokuju), God of Wisdom, Longevity, Verility, Fertility
    4. Dignity (Bishamonten), God of Treasure, God of War, God of Warriors Skt. Vaisravana
    5. Amiability (Benzaiten), Goddess of Music, Fine Arts Eloquence, Literature
    6. Fortune (Daikokuten), God of Earth Wealth Prosperity Farmers Flood Control The Kitchen
    7. Candour (Ebisu), God of Fishermen Good Forture Commerce, and Honest Labor
    Browse our e-shop: for seven lucky gods selection.