Advertising Console

    Lark ascending (Vaughan-Williams)

    G Pollen

    by G Pollen

    2 266 views
    The Lark Ascending is a work by the English composer Ralph Vaughan Williams, inspired by George Meredith's 122-line poem of the same name about the skylark. The work was written in two versions: violin and piano, written in 1914; and violin and orchestra, written in 1920. The orchestral version is the one that is almost always heard now. It is one of the most popular pieces in the Classical repertoire among British listeners. Played by Tasmin Little.