Advertising Console

    Travel Tip: Vegetarian Food That May Not be Vegetarian

    Repost
    Geo Beats

    by Geo Beats

    3.2K
    72 views
    Travel Tip: Vegetarian Food That May Not be Vegetarian - as part of the expert series by GeoBeats. Some items that might be listed as vegetarian on a menu that may not be, are things like rice. Sometimes people like to cook them in a chicken stock or a beef stock, so always ask your server before ordering. Sauces are another one, they like to put beef or chicken stock, or even dairy in them. And in places like Thailand, they like to use a lot of fish sauce, so be sure to ask your server about the sauces. If the server does not happen to know is ask the manager, but always, if available, ask the chef. For the most part, each kitchen at any restaurant has a binder with all the recipes and the recipes obviously have the ingredients. So if your sever is a little hmm about what is going on in your menu item, then ask the manager to see if they can ask the chef or bring the binder out so you can find out what is exactly in your meal so you do not get sick.