Do you want to remove all your recent searches?

All recent searches will be deleted

Right Livelihood Award Winners Announced, Stockholm

7 years ago27 views

This year’s Right Livelihood Award was announced in Stockholm at the Foreign Ministry on Thursday.

The Prize is also called the Alternative Nobel Prize and was awarded to four dedicated persons and organizations from Nigeria, Brazil, Nepal and Israel.

“True change starts at the grassroots level” begins the jury’s opinion about the laureates.

[Ole von Uexkull, Executive Director, Right Livelihood Award Foundation]: (Male, English)
“They combine this practical work at the grassroots, with political work, with advocacy, on behalf of these people that don’t have rights.”

The four laureates share the 200,000 Euro cash award.

The first award goes to Environmental activist Nnimmo Bassey from Nigeria.

He is working to stop the environmental destruction in Nigeria related to the oil production.

What many don’t know is that the oil spill in Nigeria is larger than the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico.

The second award goes to a Catholic bishop Erwin Kräutler from Brazil.

Born in Austria, bishop Kräutler is working in Brazil for indigenous people’s rights and for their land in the rainforest.

For the first time the prize goes to Nepal and Shrikrishna Upadhyay and the organization SAPPROS.

He has built several organizations to mobilize poor people to work for themselves and for their own development.

And the fourth award goes to Israel and the organization Physicians for Human Rights.

The group consists of doctors working as volunteers who are trying to get the same medical access to people in Israel and Palestine.

When Jakob von Uexkull founded the Right Livelihood Award in 1980, he offered the Nobel foundation a donation so they could create awards for environment and poverty levitation. The Noble foundation rejected it and the right livelihood awards were founded instead.


NTD News, Stockholm, Sweden