Do you want to remove all your recent searches?

All recent searches will be deleted

Like
Watch Later
Share
Add to

Franken Jokes With His Radio "Base"-Blasts Rush Limbaugh

9 years ago202 views

More at http://www.theuptake.org US Senate candidate Al Franken was loose and making jokes as his legal team prepared for Monday's election contest trial that could determine who is Minnesota's next US Senator. After a state-wide hand recount, Franken holds a 225-vote lead over former US Senator Norm Coleman. Coleman is taking the election to court claiming irregularities on how some of the votes were counted and handled. You can watch that trial live on The UpTake http://www.theuptake.org starting Monday at 1pm CT/ 2pm ET/ Noon MT/ 11am PT. Known initially as a comedian, Franken solidified his seriousness about politics while hosting a radio show on Air America. Saturday he recalled those days while speaking at a party thrown by the Minnesota Air America affiliate AM 950, KTNF "The Voice of Minnesota". While he joked he has "lost his sense of humor", Franken showed that he still has his comic chops and used them to make points about the right wing, the recount and the future of America. Partial Transcript: I feel coming to the Blue State Ball that this is my base. I am very proud of what we did with progressive radio. I am very proud of people like Rachel Maddow who have gone on to such great things. And we've really established a foothold. We really have. The other side is really floundering. They don't know what to do. Rush is now " I want 'em to fail". It's pretty amazing, huh? Showing their stripes. And don't they show their stripes. First of all I want to say something about Amy. Amy really taught me how to run for the Senate. In the '06 cycle I must have done about 50 or 60 bean feeds and burger bashes and spaghetti dinners around the state. And everywhere I went, out of the 60, say Amy was at 40. And if Amy wasn't there, her husband John was there. And if John wasn't there her dad Jim was there. And if none of them were there I wondered 'why am I here, there must be something wrong with this, must be something wrong with this one' (laughter) And when I started, and it's ...

Report this video

Select an issue

Embed the video

Franken Jokes With His Radio "Base"-Blasts Rush Limbaugh
Autoplay
<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x85c78" allowfullscreen allow="autoplay"></iframe>
Add the video to your site with the embed code above