Advertising Console

    World Cup Fail: the science of Lampard's 'goal'

    Repost
    The Royal Institution

    by The Royal Institution

    1.2K
    2 769 views
    Who needs goal-line technology when you have physics? Watch as Andy explains how a little bit of physics could've proved that Lampard's disallowed 2010 world cup goal went in.
    Click here to subscribe for more science videos: http://bit.ly/RiSubscRibe

    In a crucial World Cup 2010 knock-out match, with the game in the balance, Frank Lampard scored a beautiful goal from outside the area. It thwacked the underside of the crossbar, bounced inside the goal, and then bounced back out.

    But the celebrations were over before they had even begun. Neither the referee nor linesman thought the ball had crossed the line. No goal was given, play continued, and England ultimately crashed out of the competition.

    Goal-line technology is the solution many called for, but perhaps there was a simpler option: teach referees a bit of physics. Here, Andy returns to the Ri Prep Room to use a simple demo to explain how the spin of the ball made it bounce out of the goal, and why the referees shouldn't have needed any technology to know it was a goal.

    Watch our Engineering Science series: http://bit.ly/1nk0z08
    Watch more science videos on the Ri Channel http://richannel.org

    The Ri is on Twitter: http://twitter.com/ri_science
    and Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/royalinstitution
    Subscribe for the latest science videos: http://richannel.org/newsletter