Advertising Console

    Oscars 2014: Gravity dominate awards as '12 Years a Slave' takes best film

    euronews (in English)

    by euronews (in English)

    The film ’12 Years a Slave’ has won best picture at this year’s Academy Awards.

    In all, the historical drama took three Oscars.

    British director Steve McQueen dedicated the award to all those who had suffered slavery: “I dedicate this award to all people who have endured slavery. And the 21 million people who still suffer slavery today. Thank you very much. Thank you. Thank you.”

    Space thriller ‘Gravity’, however, dominated the evening with Alfonso Cuaron taking best director for the film.

    In total, ‘Gravity’ won seven Oscars, including best visual effects, cinematography and original score.

    The best foreign language film went to ‘The Great Beauty’.

    The Italian film centres on an aging writer’s reflections on life and his search for meaning among Rome’s idle rich.

    Elsewhere, the best actress Oscar went to Cate Blanchett for her role in ‘Blue Jasmine’, while Matthew McConaughey took best actor for the’ Dallas Buyers Club’.