FIFA Admits Referee Mistake With Italy Goal, Blatter to Return Soon

5min Sports

by 5min Sports

A referee has admitted to making a mistake in awarding Italy's second goal in their match against Brazil at the Confederations Cup, FIFA said on Sunday (June 23). Giorgio Chiellini's goal was allowed to stand even though referee Ravshan Irmatov appeared to have blown for a penalty in Italy's favour seconds earlier. Brazil angrily protested the goal, which made the score 3-2 to Brazil and brought Italy back into the match.