=== BARCELONA S.C. === <br /> <br />Un "Monumental" para el Idolo… <br /><br />Barcelona Sporting Club was founded on May 1, 1925 by a Eutimio Pérez, a Catalan immigrant from Barcelona, Spain. (Contrary to popular belief, the team was named after the city, not after FC Barcelona; the Barça-like crest was adopted later). The team competed in the provincial tournament organized by Asociación de Fútbol del Guayas (AFG), who at the time organized only amateur football tournament for the Guayas Province. During the 1940s, the popularity of Barcelona grew, thanks in part certain games against Colombian teams Deportivo Cali & Millionarios, two of the best teams in Colombia's El Dorado era of football. In matches disputed in Guayaquil, Barcelona beat Millonarios twice 3-2 and 1-0. In 1950, Barcelona won their first title in AFG's amateur tournament. The following year, AFG turned professional, and Barcelona competed as a professional team. From 1951 to 1967, Barcelona racked up five professional titles and finish as runner-up six times in the Guayas tournament, tying crosstown rival Emelec for the most titles. In 1957, as one of the top two finishers in the Guayas tournament, Barcelona participated in the newly organized national football championship, which was to be competed between the top two finishers of the Guayas tournament and the Interandino (Quito and Ambato) tournament; they finished second. In 1960, they won their first national title, and would go on to win two more by the end of the decade. In 1961, they became the first Ecuadorian team to compete in the Copa Libertadores. * First match: June 15, 1925 vs C.S. Ayacucho (1-0) * First international match: March 19, 1931 vs Flag of Colombia Deportivo Cali (4-4)